Katsushika Hokusai “Tour of Waterfalls in Various Provinces”

“A Tour of Waterfalls in Various Provinces” by Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849) is a series published around 1833 by Nishimuraya Yohachi (Eijudo), the same publisher as “Thirty-six Views of Mt. Fuji.” A total of eight prints are included in the series, which features famous waterfalls not only around Edo but also in various provinces around the country. The selected waterfalls were objects of worship, with ties to mountain religions and statues of the Amitabha or the Kannon.It seems that Hokusai was more interested in exploring various ways to express water than in showing the localities of “various provinces” as the title suggests. As such, the main feature of the series is the unique design skills of Hokusai and the fluency in which he depicts water, his elusive subject. Hokusai's fascination with water can also be seen in his previous works. “Tour of Waterfalls in Various Provinces” is a culmination of Hokusai's study of water, which he pursued for many years.